Bridal Shower

ootd-bridalshower-bust

I wore this outfit to my friend’s bridal shower earlier this month. I wanted to look cool and effortless and be comfortable. This outfit hits all three of those requirements right on the head.

The shower was amazing. My friend’s parents’ house (well, kitchen) was recently renovated and looked beautiful. I was totally drooling over the stove, even though it had more burners and compartments than I could ever know what to do with. The guest list was small and intimate. What really stood was that it was the first shower I’ve ever been to where the bride didn’t open any gifts! I know a lot of people put their nose up at this, but it was great. First of all, watching someone open gift after gift gets boring! Furthermore, it’s awkward for the bride who has to kind of exaggerate their reaction and after the first 10 or 15 gifts, “Aww, thanks!” starts to feel kind of forced. There was none of that, “Wow your gift is so much better than mine” type-feelings from guests. Plus, it gave us more time to socialize.

The thank you card I got was so sweet and sincere; so much more fulfilling than watching the bride open her gift–I’m now fully a proponent of no-gift-opening showers.

ootd-bridalshower-detail
ootd-bridalshower-full
ootd-bridalshower-kneesup

Wearing
Tee: TJ Maxx
Cardigan: H&M
Belt: Forever21
Skirt: gift via Overstock.com
Flats: Payless
2 thoughts on “Bridal Shower

Leave a Reply

